Ohio County Names 2024 Lilly Scholarship Winner

Friday, December 1, 2023 at 12:26 PM

By Ohio County Community Foundation, news release

Congratulations to Rising Sun HS senior Alyssa Simpson.

Alyssa Simpson. Photo provided.

(Rising Sun, Ind.) - The Ohio County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2024 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Ohio County is Alyssa Simpson of Rising Sun High School. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement, character, and leadership. Alyssa is the daughter of Denton and Kami Simpson of Rising Sun.

“Alyssa is a very well-rounded student. Her strong academics, leadership roles, community service, extra-curricular activities and work experience were definitely impressive to the Scholarship Committee,” said Jane Angst, Executive Director of the Ohio County Community Foundation.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years. The scholarship is for undergraduate students studying on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects both current scholars and alumni with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) and Indiana Humanities.

“Receiving this scholarship will help my parents with the cost of college, plus I have plans to apply for other scholarships and to have a job while attending college. I am planning to one day have my own business and hopefully in the future, open a business in Rising Sun to give back to the community,” said Alyssa Simpson, Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, during her interview with the OCCF Scholarship Selection Committee.

In determining Ohio County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar nominees, consideration was given to academics, extra-curricular activities and community service by the Ohio County Community Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee. After the field of applicants was narrowed down, nominees were submitted to ICI, the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, which approved the final selection of scholarship recipients.

“I am always impressed by the quality of applicants in our small community. Congratulations to our four semi-finalists Nate Elliott, Breanna Reed, Rachel Schwing and Alayna Walcott. The committee had five excellent students to select from. Best of luck to each of you!” said Jane Angst, Executive Director of the Ohio County Community Foundation.

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-99 school year and has supported the program every year since with grants totaling in excess of $505 million. More than 5,200 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

The Ohio County Community Foundation was founded in 1998. The mission of the Ohio County Community Foundation is to build, manage and distribute a lasting source of charitable funds for Ohio County. Grants are awarded to local non-profits whose projects and programs benefit Ohio County in the areas of human services, community development, scholarships, education, health and cultural affairs. The Foundation office is located at 330 Industrial Access Drive, Rising Sun, Indiana. For information concerning the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship or other scholarships or grants administered by the Ohio County Community Foundation, please call 812-438-9401, email tstegemiller@occfrisingsun.com or visit our website at occfrisingsun.com.

More from Local News


City of Aurora Offering Grant Opportunity for Nonprofits

Nonprofit organizations with projects that will directly benefit the residents of Aurora are encouraged to apply.

BCEF Supports 11 BHS Students for Study Abroad Program

The BCEF has donated $3,000 to the Indiana University Honors Program in Foreign Language.

Over a Thousand Dresses Available at Dearborn Co. Recycling Center's ReProm Dress Exchange

The program is open to everyone, not just Dearborn County residents.

Local Sports Report - February 21, 2024

Lawrenceburg and South Dearborn battled on Homecoming Night at LHS.

VIDEO: South Ripley's Henry Dunks His Way to 1,000th Career Point

Henry had a big night in order to reach the milestone.

Local Sports Report - February 20, 2024

South Ripley's Cole Henry eclipsed the 1,000th career point mark.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Keith Urban - Put You in a Song

JoDee Messina Lesson In Leavin' 21:41
John Conlee She Can't Say That Anymore 21:38
Mark Chesnutt Too Cold At Home 21:32
Thomas Rhett Angels Don't Always Have Wings EAGLE ONLY NO INTRO IMAGING 21:29